Appointments to the Future Fund Board

MC 16/15

The Hon. Joe Hockey MP


Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance

Date: Tuesday, 14 April 2015

The Government is pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Carolyn Kay and Dr Jane Wilson as members of the Future Fund Board of Guardians.

Both members will be appointed for a period of five years from 14 April 2015.

Ms Kay and Dr Wilson both have extensive investment and board experience. Their respective backgrounds will be great assets for the Future Fund Board, bringing considerable financial acumen and business expertise to complement the Board's existing skills.

Ms Kay has extensive experience in the finance sector both in executive and non executive roles, including working as a banker and as a lawyer at Morgan Stanley, JP Morgan and Linklaters & Paines in London, New York and Australia and most recently as a former director of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Ms Kay is currently a director of Allens Linklaters, Brambles, John Swire & Sons P/L and a number of not-for-profit organisations. She has also been awarded the Centenary Medal for services to business.

Dr Wilson has had a distinguished career as an independent director with a background in finance, banking and medicine. Dr Wilson is an independent director of Sonic Healthcare Ltd and a member of the Prime Minister's Business Advisory Council. She also sits on the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Board.

Ms Kay and Dr Wilson replace Ms Susan Doyle and Dr John Mulcahy. Ms Doyle and Dr Mulcahy were the longest serving members of the Board. Both were appointed in 2006 and were founding members of the Board. They leave the Future Fund well placed to continue its strong performance in maximising returns over the long term.

We would like to thank Ms Doyle and Dr Mulcahy for their long-term commitment to the Future Fund Board of Guardians and wish them well for the future.


Media Contact(s)

For the Treasurer - Mike Willesee - 0408 383 076
For Minister Cormann - Karen Wu - 0428 350 139