Media Release

Appointment of Deputy Electoral Commissioner and Reappointment of Australian Electoral Officer for New South Wales

MC 08/16

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate

26 February 2016

The Government has appointed Ms Kathryn Toohey CSC as the Deputy Electoral Commissioner. The appointment is for a period of five years.

Ms Toohey is currently the Director-General of the Integrated Capability Development Branch in the Department of Defence. She has an impressive background in managing resources in a high risk environment. The Australian Electoral Commission will benefit from her extensive project management experience, forward thinking and operational efficiency. 

The Government has reappointed Mr Douglas Orr as Australian Electoral Officer for New South Wales to 30 June 2017. 

Mr Orr has significant and wide-ranging experience in managing and planning for elections. He has been integral to the implementation of internal reform since the 2013 federal election, and his reappointment will assist in the successful delivery of the upcoming federal election in New South Wales. 


Media Contact(s): 

Karen Wu - 0428 350 139

Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann, Minister for Finance, Perth