Media Releases → 2016


New Government Air Travel Services Panel

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate

Date: Friday, 29 April 2016

The Government has appointed a new whole-of-Government panel for air travel services for the next five years. The new panel consists of 18 airlines, including:

  • Air New Zealand
  • Air Niugini
  • British Airways
  • Cathay Pacific Airways
  • China Eastern Airlines
  • Emirates
  • Etihad Airways
  • Fiji Airways
  • Finnair
  • Garuda Indonesia
  • LATAM Airlines
  • Qantas Airways (including Jetstar)
  • Qatar Airways
  • Regional Express
  • Royal Brunei Airlines
  • Singapore Airlines
  • Thai Airways
  • Virgin Australia

Replacing the current domestic and international air services panels, the new panel is expected to reduce travel expenditure by departments and agencies and additionally, increased baggage allowances, reduced or removed fees and more flexible fare conditions are expected to provide further savings.

Compared to the previous contracts, the new panel provides:

  • competitive route deal fares and discounted point of sale, point of origin and inbound fares that provide departments and agencies with substantial savings in comparison to market fares;
  • flexible fare conditions that provide a range of benefits for government travellers;
  • supports compliance with the government’s best fare of the day international travel policy and lowest practical fare domestic travel policy;
  • detailed reporting on government travel patterns;
  • simplified contract management; and
  • the ability to adapt to the government’s changing travel needs.

In 2014-15, the Government booked approximately $420 million of domestic and international air travel, across 1.4 million sectors.

The new panel begins on 1 May 2016.


Media Contact(s)

Karen Wu - 0428 350 139