Joint Media Release

Reappointment of Chair for NBN Co Limited

MC 46/16

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for Western Australia

Senator the Hon. Mitch Fifield
Minister for Communications

30 September 2016

The Turnbull Government has reappointed Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO as Chair and Non-Executive Director of the Board of NBN Co Limited (nbn) for a further three-year term.

Dr Switkowski, one of Australia’s most distinguished telecommunications executives, has done an outstanding job as Chair of the nbn Board.

He previously served as Chief Executive Officer of both Telstra Corporation Limited and Optus Communications Limited.

Along with Bill Morrow and the executive team, the Board has transformed the company and achieved a remarkable rate of growth in the rollout.

Today, the nbn is available at more than 3.1 million addresses with over 1.3 million people enjoying the benefits of high-speed broadband.

Shareholder Ministers congratulate Dr Switkowski on his reappointment and look forward to his continued leadership of the nbn Board as it guides the project to completion by 2020.

Dr Switkowski’s reappointment commences on Monday, 3 October 2016.


Media Contact(s): 

For Minister Cormann - Karen Wu - 0428 350 139
For Minister Fifield - Mark Briers - 0428 965 189

Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann, Minister for Finance, Perth