Media Releases → 2016


New appointments to the ARTC Board

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for Western Australia

The Hon. Darren Chester MP
Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
Federal Member for Gippsland

Date: Friday, 16 December 2016

The Government has appointed Mr David Saxelby and Ms Jennifer Seabrook to the Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC) Board.

These appointments ensure a strong leadership group is in place to deliver on the Australian Government’s significant rail investment and reform agenda.

Mr Saxelby has substantial experience in construction, infrastructure contracting and major projects, while Ms Seabrook has extensive experience in finance and capital markets. These skills and experience will strengthen the Board’s capability, while also bringing a wealth of private and public sector experience to the organisation.

Ms Seabrook brings more than 20 years’ board experience to ARTC, including current director-level roles with Iluka Resources Limited, IRESS Limited, MMG Limited, and Western Australian Treasury Corporation. Her experience will ensure the Board retains strong capability in finance and capital markets over coming years.

Mr Saxelby has extensive experience delivering major projects. He has worked on some of Australia’s most iconic infrastructure projects, including the Lane Cove Tunnel, ANZAC Bridge, and NorthConnex. His major project experience will hold ARTC in good stead to continue delivering major rail initiatives in the coming years.

The Coalition Government is committed to ensuring that our national freight network is as efficient and effective as possible, this includes delivering the largest transport project in Australia – Inland Rail from Melbourne to Brisbane.

For more information on the ARTC visit


Media Contact(s)

For Minister Cormann - Karen Wu - 0428 350 139