Media Releases → 2017


New appointments to the Clean Energy Finance Corporation Board

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for Western Australia

The Hon. Josh Frydenberg MP
Minister for the Environment and Energy

Date: Thursday, 20 July 2017

The Turnbull Government is pleased to announce several appointments to the board of the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC).

The new board members bring a range of important skills and expertise to the board with significant experience in energy, finance and investment, innovation, corporate risk and governance.

Steven Skala AO will serve as the new Chair of the CEFC.  Mr Skala has a long and distinguished career of service including on the boards of private, not-for-profit and government organisations.  He is Vice Chairman, Australia of Deutsche Bank AG and former leading corporate lawyer. He is also a former Director of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and Chair of Film Australia.

Leeanne Bond, Samantha Tough and Nicola Wakefield Evans will join the board as members.

Ms Bond is one of Australia’s leading engineers and has extensive experience in the water and energy sectors in Queensland and the Northern Territory.  She currently serves on the board of Snowy Hydro and is Deputy Chair of the board of Territory Generation.

Ms Tough has had a distinguished and varied career in the energy and resources industries in Western Australia and serves on the boards of Synergy and Saracen Holdings Limited, amongst other boards.

Ms Wakefield Evans is one of Australia’s leading corporate and commercial lawyers.  She was a partner at King & Wood Mallesons and its predecessors for more than 20 years and now serves on the boards of Macquarie Group, BUPA Australia and Lendlease Corporation. 

These appointments strengthen the gender balance of the board and enhance its geographical representation.  The Government proposes to make an additional appointment to fill a final vacancy on the board in the coming months.

The Government would like to thank the departing Chair, Jillian Broadbent AO, and members Ian Moore, Anna Skarbek and Andrew Stock, for their outstanding service on the board, particularly through the establishment phase of the CEFC.

The CEFC manages a fund of more than $10 billion, and the 2016-17 year saw it commit almost $2.1 billion to 35 individual transactions with each dollar of investment matched by more than $2 from the private sector.  The new Chair and board are well placed to build on this success in the future.


Media Contact(s)

For Minister Cormann - Karen Wu - 0428 350 139
For Minister Frydenberg - Kane Silom – 02 6277 7920