Media Releases → 2017


Appointment of NBN Co Limited non-executive Director

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for Western Australia

Senator the Hon. Mitch Fifield
Minister for Communication
Minister for Arts
Manager of Government Business in the Senate
Senator for Victoria

Date: Tuesday, 15 August 2017

The Government has appointed Mr Drew Clarke AO PSM as a non-executive Director of the Board of NBN Co Limited (nbn) for a term of three years, commencing on 22 August 2017.

Mr Clarke has extensive experience having served in a range of senior government positions. He served as Secretary of the Department of Communications from 2013 to 2015, where he was involved in the large scale review and reform of the National Broadband Network (NBN) project and developed an in-depth understanding of the telecommunications market.

Mr Clarke also served as Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism from 2010 to 2013 where he made substantial contributions to public policy.

Mr Clarke also served as Chief of Staff in the Office of the Prime Minister from September 2015 to April 2017.

Mr Clarke is uniquely placed to assist the nbn Board as the rollout increases in scale and the company transitions from network construction to an operational business.

Mr Clarke’s extensive government and regulatory experience will enhance the Board’s capability through to the completion of the NBN rollout in 2020.


Media Contact(s)

For Minister Cormann: Karen Wu - 0428 350 139
For Minister Fifield: Geraldine Mitchell - 0417 309 812