Media Releases → 2019


Reappointment of NBN Co Limited Chair

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance
Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for Western Australia

The Hon. Paul Fletcher MP
Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts

Date: Thursday, 19 September 2019

The Government has reappointed Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO as Chair and a Non‑Executive Director of the NBN Co Limited (NBN Co) Board for a further three year term.

Dr Switkowski is one of Australia’s most distinguished telecommunications executives and has done an outstanding job as Chair of the NBN Co Board since his appointment in 2013. Dr Switkowski, along with Stephen Rue (and before him Bill Morrow) and the NBN Co executive team, has been instrumental in transforming NBN Co over the last six years and achieving a remarkable rate of growth in the rollout. 

The company is now on track to complete the build phase next year, and each week 43,000 premises are becoming ready to connect and 39,700 premises are taking up NBN services.

Last financial year the company exceeded its rollout and revenue targets, and there are currently more than 10 million premises ready to connect. More than 88 per cent of Australian homes and businesses can now order NBN services, and over 5.9 million premises have already connected to the NBN’s high-speed, reliable broadband.

Ministers Fletcher and Cormann congratulate Dr Switkowski on his reappointment and look forward to his continued leadership of the NBN Co Board as the rollout progresses towards its 2020 completion milestone.

Dr Switkowski’s reappointment commences on 3 October 2019.

For more information about the NBN rollout visit:


Media Contact(s)

Minister Cormann: Karen Wu - 0428 350 139
Minister Fletcher: Brad Hatch - 0448 162 679