Media Releases → 2020


Appointment of Chairperson - Australian Electoral Commission

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann
Minister for Finance
Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for Western Australia

Date: Thursday, 17 September 2020

I am pleased to announce that the Governor General has appointed the Honourable Justice Susan Kenny AM as the new Chairperson to the Australian Electoral Commission.

Justice Kenny brings a wealth of experience to this role, having been a Federal Court Judge since 1998 and is currently also a Deputy President of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

In June this year, Justice Kenny’s distinguished career was recognised with the awarding of the

Member of the Order of Australia (AM) honour, for significant service to the law, and to the judiciary, particularly to the Federal Court of Australia. She will bring strong leadership and wise counsel to her role in the AEC.

I also acknowledge and thank the outgoing Chairperson, the Honourable Dennis Cowdroy AO QC, who has held the position for the last five and a half years.

I wish him all the best for his future endeavours, including in his role as the ACT’s inaugural Integrity Commissioner.


Media Contact(s)

Karen Wu - 0428 350 139