Media Releases → 2022


Inaugural women’s economic equality taskforce to meet for the first time

Minister for Finance
Minister for the Public Service
Minister for Women

Date: Wednesday, 21 September 2022

The Albanese Government’s Women’s Economic Equality Taskforce (WEET) will meet for the first time today and delivers on an election commitment to prioritise advice to government on the many issues facing women in the Australian economy.

The appointment of 12 eminent women will join the Chair of the Taskforce, Sam Mostyn AO, as the inaugural membership of the Taskforce.

Minister for Women, Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher said that the WEET will play an important advisory role to the Government on a range of issues related to driving women’s equality as an economic imperative, including through the National Gender Equality Strategy and the Employment White Paper.

The members were selected based on their wide ranging skills and lived experiences.

“The Taskforce brings together women from around Australia, who will contribute a range of expertise and lived experiences,” Minister Gallagher said.

“The membership of the Taskforce reflects the diversity of women in Australia and this is its real strength.”

“The collective experience and advice of these outstanding women will be crucial as the Albanese Government works to re-elevate Australia’s status as a leader on gender equality.”

The Government will continue to work with a broad range of representatives from the business, community and advocacy sectors on gender equality issues, including the six National Women’s Alliances.

“The Taskforce will be an important contributor, alongside other consultation and engagement pathways, in driving progress on gender equality and keeping women at the centre of government policy and decision making,” Minister Gallagher concluded.

Taskforce members comprise:

  • Sam Mostyn AO (Chair) - President of Chief Executive Women
  • Adrienne Picone – Chief Executive Officer of Tasmania’s Council of Social Service
  • Chiou See Anderson – President at National Council of Women of Australia; board member of the International Council of Women
  • Danielle Wood – Chief Executive Officer of Grattan Institute; President of the Economic Society of Australia; co-founder and first Chair of the Women in Economics Network
  • Jennifer Westacott AO – Chief Executive of the Business Council of Australia
  • Jenny Macklin – Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow at the University of Melbourne, School of Government
  • Michele O’Neil – President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions
  • Professor Rae Cooper AO – Director of the Gender Equality in Working Life Research Initiative, University of Sydney; President Elect of International Labor and Employment Relations Association (ILERA)
  • Samantha Connor – President of People with Disability Australia
  • Shelley Cable – Director of Minderoo Foundation’s Generation One
  • Shirleen Campbell – Co-ordinator of the Tangentyere Women's Family Safety Group; NT Local Hero in 2020
  • Sizol Fuyana Founder of Fuyana Support; 2022 Northern Territory Young Australian of the Year
  • Terese Edwards – Executive Director of the National Council of Single Mothers and their Children.


Media Contact(s)

Pat Cronan 0432 758 224